Reflection on Learning Theories

by Rósa

People are constantly learning.  Everyday we are presented with immense amount of information, especially at present date after computers and technology became part of our daily routine.  But people do not always learn in the same manner.  It depends tremendously which age group people belongs to how we behave and process the new things that are presented to us (Ormrod, Schunk, & Gredler, 2009).

What I found most interesting regarding what I learned in this course is the function of the brain and how we process things into working memory or long term memory and how all those different learning theories go about explaining how the brain works regarding to memorizing things in different ways but still with similar learning outcomes (Ormrod, Schunk, & Gredler, 2009).

http://openclipart.org/detail/36181/education-by-netalloy

Picture from Open Clipart Library

This course has deepened my understanding on the main difference between Behaviorism, Cognitivism, Constructivism, Connectivism, Social learning theories and how adults go about learning differently than young people and children.  The course has also deepened my knowledge of how I myself learn things and in the process I have placed myself as a Connectivism learner.  In the beginning of the course I saw myself as a Cognitive learner that learned best using visual aid but as the course progressed I had to rethink my own learning process and the results were a bit surprising for me but there is no doubt about it that I am an ideal Connectivism learner.

Learning theories, learning styles, educational technology, and motivation are all connected together and one part cannot exist without other.  We use them as a tool to guide us in the right direction when we plan a syllabus or a course material as instructional designers.  We cannot always tailor for everybody’s need regarding courses and course material but with the knowledge we have gained about learning theories and styles, and with modern technology we can present course material with a variation that in the end most (and hopefully all) students can adapt their learning curve to their personal learning style and intrinsic motivation (Ormrod, Schunk, & Gredler, 2009).

Without a doubt this course will help me tremendously as I pursue my studies, and in the future, a career in Instructional Design.  It will also help me in my present position as a teacher of young adults as I can put most of the material straight to use while preparing syllabuses for spring term and course assignments.  It has made me aware of the differences between different learning theories and learning styles and will without doubt help me in my professional development in the future when I incorporate different material into various courses as an Instructional Designer.

References

Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2009). Learning theories and instruction (Laureate custom edition). New York, USA: Pearson.

